Board of Commissioners

Board of Commissioners
Hillsborough's elected leaders are (from left) Commissioner Kathleen Ferguson, Mayor Pro Tem Jenn Weaver, Commissioner Matt Hughes, Mayor Tom Stevens and commissioners Evelyn Lloyd and Mark Bell.

The Hillsborough Board of Commissioners acts as the town's legislative body, establishing policy and law. It includes the mayor and five commissioners.

The mayor and commissioners serve part time and are chosen through townwide nonpartisan elections. The mayor is elected to a two-year term, serves as the presiding officer at Board of Commissioners meetings, and acts as the head of the town for ceremonial purposes. The five commissioners are elected to staggered four-year terms.

Regular meetings are held the second Monday and work sessions the fourth Monday of each month. See the meeting information section below for details.